The My Trip and My Pass section are closely intertwined, and are explained in this section. Both sections are key to create your ticket for your trip, and it's good to understand them well. Therefore, please have a close read of the following sections.
If you go to the My Trip section of the DiscoverEU Travel App, you will see the picture below. In this overview, you can see the Trip file that is created to save all your trains to. You have the option to create additional trips by clicking the ‘+’ icon in the top-right of the screen. However, only one trip can be used to travel with your Pass, which is the one with the Passport icon and your name below it. Therefore, this will only be useful in case you would like to save multiple possible itineraries, after which you save the final itinerary to the Trip that is connected to your Pass.
Next to the name of your trip there are three dots. Tapping this will allow you to do the following:
- Edit the name of your trip: the default name of the trip is My Interrail trip, but you can change it to whatever you wish. Just tap on Edit, write a new name of your choice, and save the changes.
- Duplicate the trip: you can create an extra trip to research a different itinerary, for instance. However, this trip is not linked to your pass, only the main trip is linked to your pass.
- Show in widget: this will create a widget that you can add to your phone's Home screen, so that you have a faster direct access to your trip.
If you tap on your trip, you will see all the trains you save in the Planner section. If you want to add a train to your trip, you can click on + Add another journey, which will take you to the Planner section, where you can look for new trains. For more information on how the Planner works, please check out this article.
Your trip can look something like this:
If your pass is not yet activated, you will see an overview of all the trains you have saved here. If you have already activated the Pass,the QR code symbol to the right of each train allows you to add it to your Pass. For more information on how to create the QR-code, please check out this article.
Note: Once a train is added to your Pass, the travel day will be considered as used even if you don't end up travelling on that day. This might also impact the validity period of your Pass. Therefore, please do not activate a travel day and/ or add a train to your Pass until you're certain that you'll use your Pass that day.
If you have already activated a travel day for the train you're adding to your Pass, this will be mentioned next to the date above the train. If you have not yet activated a travel day for this train, you will be asked to do so when adding the train to your Pass. For more information on travel days, please check out this article.
If the train is crossing your own country of residence, a popup will ask you to mark that travel day as an outbound/inbound trip. You can find more information about the restrictions on travelling in your home country here.
If you change your mind and decide not to use that train anymore, you only have to swipe left again to remove the train from your pass. However, you will also need to de-activate the travel day separately in the My Pass section of the DiscoverEU Travel App. More information can be found further down in this article.
On the top right corner of your Trip, you will see three dots. If you tap this, you will be provided with the following options:
- Share as image allows you to send an image of your itinerary on a map. This can come in handy when contacting the DiscoverEU Travel Team.
- Share as link allows you to share the train details of your itinerary. This could be nice to share with relatives, so they can stay on track with your travels.
- Edit trip allows you to change the name of your trip. The option to connect your trip to a different Pass is not active in the current version.
Finally, the My Trip section also has an option to visualize your trip. By default, your trip will be shown as a list of all saved trains. However, if you tap the options ‘view on map’, you can see your entire route plotted on a map of Europe. In the Statistics side, you can also see some fun data on your itinerary! You can share these on social media, or save them for the memories!
The My Pass section is where you can see your pass details and find the QR-codes for your trip. Once you've opened the My Pass section, click on your pass to see the pass details. This will look as follows:
You will see your name, your Pass type, Pass number, and validity period mentioned here.If you click on the details button next to your name, you will also see your passport details and country of residence. If any of the information listed here is incorrect, please get in touch with the DiscoverEU Travel Team for assistance.
You can also see your remaining number of travel days and inbound/outbound trips. Note that your number of used travel days (and inbound/ outbound trips) includes all activated days, whether they are in the future or in the past. If you deactivate a day in the future that you haven't used yet, the travel day count will go down.
Below these (un)used days, you can see the numbers 1 till 7 listed. Each of these numbers stands for one travel day on your Pass. If you have not yet activated a travel day, you will have the option to ‘Add a journey’ here. This will take you to the My Trip section, from where you can activate trains. For more information on how to create a QR-code, check the top part of this article and/ or have a look at this information.
If your Pass is activated, but no travel days have been scheduled yet, you have the option to schedule a travel day. If you are not sure yet when you will travel, and your travel period is in the future, you can also deactivate your Pass. This will allow you to re-plan your Pass validity, so that you can use it at a later date. If you have any active travel days scheduled, you will need to cancel these first before being able to deactivate your Pass. For more information on this, check this article.
If you have scheduled a travel day, and you have added trains to your Pass, you can click the button ‘show ticket’ to open the QR code that you will need to show on inspection.For more information about ticket inspection, please check out this article. If a travel day is in the future and you don’t intend to travel on that day anymore, you can cancel it by clicking on Cancel travel day.
If you want to change the route of the trip you are taking, you can re-arrange your trains in the My trip section and switch on your new itinerary.